Utah Driving Laws
Driver License Requirements. The minimum driving age in Utah is 16 years old. All drivers must have a valid driver’s license. Visitors from other states or countries may drive in Utah as long as they have a current driver’s license and are at least 16 .
Speed Limits. On most highways the speed limit is 55 miles per hour, particularly in urban areas. Speed limits increase to 65 or 75 on Interstate highways, and 65 miles per hour on most state highways. These increased speeds are allowed only where posted. Transition zones from one speed limit to another are indicated with pavement markings and additional signs.
Turning Right on a Red Light. Right turns are allowed on a red light after the vehicle has come to a complete stop, except where signs prohibit.
Helmet Use and Seat Belt Laws. The driver of a car, front seat passenger, and all children under 10 years old, regardless of their position in the car, are required by Utah law to use seat belts. Children under the age of two are required to be in federally approved safety seat. Helmet use is mandatory for motorcyclists and passengers under the age of 18.
For more information contact the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles, 801-965-4518 or the Utah Highway Patrol, 801-297-7780